Devil’s Bowl Speedway Drivers Receive Honors From Vermont Motorsports Magazine

PHOTO: J&S Steel Late Model Champion Craig Bushey of Fairfax, VT was voted the Devil’s Bowl Speedway “Driver of the Year” by the readers of Vermont Motorsports Magazine. (MemorEvents photo)

Bushey voted Devil’s Bowl Speedway “Driver of the Year” by readers of

WEST HAVEN, VT – A group of local stock car racers from Devil’s Bowl Speedway has been honored by the readers of the independent Vermont Motorsports Magazine news website during its annual “Driver of the Year” voting. Eleven drivers from the half-mile asphalt oval in West Haven, VT were nominated in seven categories on

With over 23,000 total votes cast during the two-week balloting, Craig Bushey of Fairfax, VT was named the Devil’s Bowl Speedway Driver of the Year. Bushey took an impressive nine victories en route to winning the J&S Steel Late Model championship in 2012. Vince Quenneville, Jr., of Brandon, VT finished second in the category after a five-win season in the Bond Auto Parts Modified division, and Modified track champion Ron Proctor of Charlton, NY finished third in the vote.

Proctor and Bushey were also nominated to the top category, Vermont Motorsports Magazine 2012 Driver of the Year. That honor was won by American-Canadian Tour champion Wayne Helliwell, Jr., of Dover, NH, who earned his first victory of the season in the Spring Green 112 at Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

Josh Masterson of Bristol, VT finished third in two categories after winning the championship in his first season in the entry-level Bomber division at Devil’s Bowl; Masterson was third in the voting in both the Four-Cylinder and Rookie of the Year categories. Five-time Devil’s Bowl winner Bobby LaVair of Gabriels, NY was also nominated in the Four Cylinder category, and Devil’s Bowl Modified racer Joey Roberts of Georgia, VT was nominated on the Rookie of the Year ballot.

Other Devil’s Bowl drivers receiving nominations and votes in various categories included Renegade champion Robert Gordon of Milton, VT, three-time Modified winner Alex Bell of Cambridge, NY, two-time Modified winner Jessey Mueller of Olmstedville, NY, Modified and Late Model competitor Hunter Bates of Middlebury, VT, and five-time Renegade winner Ryan Keith of Pittsford, VT. Full results of the voting are available at The results of the vote were read live on Victory Lane Radio on Monday, December 17, with the archived replay available at

The Devil’s Bowl Speedway 2012 Banquet of Champions will be held on Saturday, February 2, 2013 at the Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington in Rutland, VT. Devil’s Bowl Speedway opens its 47th season of stock car racing on Sunday, May 5; the full season schedule will be announced soon. For more information, or to order a 2013 Season Pass, visit or call (802) 265-3112.

This entry was posted in Latest News, Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.